Error: Unable to create directory uploads/2019/02. Is its parent directory writable by the server?

Democrats running FROM reelection in increasing numbers

Posted on March 7 2010 1:34 am
Be Sociable, Share!
Print This Post Print This Post

The list is growing at an increasing pace. Democrats in Washington, and in state legislatures and gubernatorial offices, are steadily coming forward to tell their constituents and the nation at-large that they no longer desire a role in elected office – for a variety of vague reasons.

Most notably missing from this list (for now) is the ever-defiant New York Democrat Rep. Charles Rangel, who – in the vein of Eliot Spitzer and Rod Blagoyevich – seems to believe himself untouchable despite congressional probes into his “ethical lapses.”

This is a list-in-progress.  


March 5 – Representative William D. Delahunt, a seven-term Democrat, announced Friday he will not seek re-election.

March 5 – Freshman Democratic Representative Eric Massa (NY) announced his resignation.

March 5 – Massachusetts State Sen. Susan Tucker tells her constituents she will not run for another term.

March 4 – Wyoming Gov. Dave Freudenthal announces at a press conference that he won’t run for a third term.

March 4 – Two-term Utah State Representative Christine Johnson announces she will not seek reelection.

March 2 – Four-term Massachusetts State Representative Brian P. Wallace informs his native South Boston that he will leave office at the end of the year.

March 1 – New York Governor David Paterson, knee-deep in sordid scandals, drops his bid for reelection.

February 15 – Sen. Evan Bayh of Indiana announces he will not run for reelection

February 12 – Rhode Island Rep. Patrick Kennedy announces he will not seek reelection

February 11 – California Representative Diane Watson announces she will not run for reelection.

February – Delaware Sen. Ted Kaufman, appointed by then-Gov. Ruth Ann Minner to fill the vacancy left when Joe Biden departed for the vice presidency, says he will not seek election for a full term.

January 6 – Democrats announce Sen. Chris Dodd of Connecticut will not seek reelection.

January 5 – North Dakota Sen. Byron Dorgan announces he will not run for reelection

July 10, 2009 – After a controversial appointment to fill the vacancy left when Barack Obama assumed the presidency, Illinois Sen. Roland Burris decided to opt out of a run for election to a full term.

For an in-depth look at the 2010 elections landscape, check out RealClear Politics’ running coverage at Politics Nation.

Be Sociable, Share!
5 Responses leave one →

Leave a Reply

Note: You can use basic XHTML in your comments. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

Copyright 2019 NewsReal Blog

The Theme Foundry